In re Ark. Sup. Ct. Comm'n on Children Youth & Families (Per Curiam)

Annotate this Case
Download PDF
Cite as 2012 Ark. 272 SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS IN RE ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT COMMISSION ON CHILDREN, YOUTH AND FAMILIES Opinion Delivered June 14, 2012 PER CURIAM We established the Arkansas Supreme Court Commission on Children, Youth and Families on December 15, 2011, to study and recommend improvements to state courts and court practices. See In re Creation of the Arkansas Supreme Court Comm n on Children, Youth & Families, 2011 Ark. 545 (per curiam). At that time, we announced the commission s goals and structure. Today, we appoint the members of the commission. The standing members are as follows: Jim Hannah, Chief Justice of the Arkansas Supreme Court (chair), Mr. John Selig, Director of the Department of Human Services, Dr. Tom W. Kimbrell, Commissioner of Education, Mr. Rich Huddleston, Executive Director of Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families, Senator Missy Irwin, Chair of the Senate Committee on Children and Youth, and Cite as 2012 Ark. 272 Representative Stephanie Malone, Chair of the House Committee on Children and Youth. In addition, the supreme court appoints six members to serve two-year terms: Hon. Wiley Branton, Jr., Circuit Judge, Sixth Circuit, Hon. Ken Coker, Jr., Circuit Judge, Fifth Circuit, Dr. Jonathan Bates, President and CEO of Arkansas Children s Hospital, Dr. Sherece West, President and CEO of the Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation, Ms. Claire Babineaux-Fontenot, Senior Vice President and Chief Tax Officer of WalMart Stores, Inc., and Ms. Sedella White, Chair of the Division of Children and Families Youth Advisory Committee. The court thanks the standing-commission members and the appointees for their interest in this important issue and their willingness to invest their time and talents in the commission s work. 2