2018 Wyoming Statutes
SECTION 26-34-127 - Penalties and enforcement.

Universal Citation: WY Stat § 26-34-127 (2018)

26-34-127. Penalties and enforcement.

(a) The commissioner, instead of suspension or revocation of a certificate of authority under W.S. 26-34-121, may levy an administrative penalty in an amount not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00) if reasonable notice in writing is given of the intent to levy the penalty and the health maintenance organization has a reasonable time within which to remedy the defect in its operations which gave rise to the penalty citation. The commissioner may augment this penalty by an amount equal to the sum that he calculates to be the damages suffered by enrollees or other members of the public.

(b) If the commissioner or the administrator for any reason has cause to believe that any violation of this chapter has occurred or is threatened, the commissioner or administrator may give notice to the health maintenance organization and to the representatives, or other persons who appear to be involved in the suspected violation, to arrange a conference with the alleged violators or their authorized representatives for the purpose of attempting to ascertain the facts relating to the suspected violation, and, if it appears that any violation has occurred or is threatened, to arrive at an adequate and effective means of correcting or preventing the violation. Proceedings under this subsection shall not be governed by any formal procedural requirements, and may be conducted in a manner the commissioner or the administrator deems appropriate under the circumstances. However, unless consented to by the health maintenance organization, no rule or order shall result from a conference until the requirements of this section or W.S. 26-34-125 are satisfied.

(c) The commissioner may issue an order directing a health maintenance organization or a representative of a health maintenance organization to cease and desist from engaging in any act or practice in violation of this chapter. Within fifteen (15) days after service of the cease and desist order, the respondent may request a hearing on the question of whether acts or practices in violation of this chapter have occurred. The hearing shall be conducted pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, and judicial review is available as provided by that act.

(d) In the case of any violation of this chapter, if the commissioner elects not to issue a cease and desist order, or in case of noncompliance with a cease and desist order issued pursuant to subsection (c) of this section, the commissioner may institute a proceeding to obtain injunctive or other appropriate relief in the district court.

(e) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this act, if a health maintenance organization fails to comply with the net worth requirement of this act, the commissioner is authorized to take appropriate action to assure that the continued operation of the health maintenance organization will not be hazardous to its enrollees.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.