2011 Wyoming Statutes
TITLE 31 - MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 9 - MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY
(a) As used in this act:
(i) Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 241, 4.
(ii) "Driver" means as defined by W.S. 31-5-102(a);
(iii) "Division" means the division within the department of transportation charged with administration and enforcement of this act;
(iv) "Judgment" means any judgment that is final without further appeal. The judgment shall have been rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction of any state or of the United States. The cause of action shall result from damages occurring from a motor vehicle accident and may relate to bodily injury or death of person, or to damage or to loss of property;
(v) "License" means any driver's license, instruction permit or temporary license issued under the laws of this state pertaining to the licensing of drivers;
(vi) "Motor vehicle" means as defined by W.S. 31-5-102(a);
(vii) "Nonresident" means every person who is not a resident of this state;
(viii) "Nonresident's operating privilege" means the privilege conferred upon a nonresident by the laws of this state pertaining to the operation by him of a motor vehicle, or the use of a motor vehicle owned by him, in this state;
(ix) "Operator" means every person who is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle;
(x) "Owner" means as defined by W.S. 31-5-102(a);
(xi) "Proof of financial responsibility" means evidence of ability to respond in damages for liability, resulting from accidents occurring subsequent to the effective date of the proof, arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle, in the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) because of bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident, and subject to the limit for one (1) person, in the amount of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00) because of bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, and in the amount of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident;
(xii) "Registration" means registration certificate or certificates and registration plates issued under the laws of this state pertaining to the registration of motor vehicles;
(xiii) "State" means any state, territory or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia or any province of the Dominion of Canada;
(xiv) "This act" means W.S. 31-9-101 through 31-9-415.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.