2017 Wisconsin Statutes & Annotations
Chapter 202. Regulation of professional employer organizations and the solicitation of funds for a charitable purpose.
202.051 Debit or credit card payments; collection of registration for nonpayment by financial institution.

Universal Citation: WI Stat § 202.051 (2017)

202.051 Debit or credit card payments; collection of registration for nonpayment by financial institution.

(1) If the department permits the payment of a fee by use of a debit or credit card, the department may charge a service charge for each transaction in addition to the fee being paid. The service charge shall be sufficient to cover the cost to the department of permitting the payment of a fee by debit or credit card.

(2) If a registrant pays a fee required under this chapter by check or by debit or credit card and the check is not paid by the financial institution upon which the check is drawn or if the demand for payment under the debit or credit card transaction is not paid by the financial institution upon which demand is made, the department may cancel the registration after 60 days after the department receives a notice of nonpayment from the financial institution, subject to sub. (3).

(3) At least 20 days before canceling a registration under sub. (2), the department shall provide a notice to the registrant that informs the registrant that the check or demand for payment under the debit or credit card transaction was not paid by the financial institution and that the registrant's registration may be canceled, unless the registrant does all of the following before that date:

(a) Pays the fee for which the unpaid check or demand for payment under the debit or credit card transaction was issued.

(b) Pays any applicable late fee.

(c) Pays the charge for an unpaid draft established under s. 20.905 (2).

(4) The department may extend the date for cancellation to allow the registrant additional time to comply with sub. (3) (a) to (c).

(5) The department may reinstate a registration that it cancelled under this section only if the former registrant complies with sub. (3) (a) to (c) and pays a $30 reinstatement fee.

History: 2013 a. 20; 2015 a. 163 s. 47; 202.051, 2015 stats; 2017 a. 59.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wisconsin may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.