2017 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 4 - Animals and Animal Husbandry
Chapter 4-8 - Milk Gathering Stations
Section 4-8-16 - Penalties for violations.

Universal Citation: RI Gen L § 4-8-16 (2017)

§ 4-8-16. Penalties for violations.

Any person who, being a buyer of milk for shipment for the purposes set forth in this chapter, whether that person be licensed or whether his or her business be transacted at a station or otherwise, fails to make prompt payments for milk purchased, with intent to defraud, or makes any false or misleading statement or statements enumerated in this chapter, with intent to deceive, or enters into any combination to fix prices, or not being licensed, conducts the business of buying milk for shipment as provided in this chapter, or being licensed or otherwise, engages in that business without having a station or office, or fails to conform to any requirement of or violates any of the provisions of this chapter, with intent to deceive a seller of milk, is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall for the first offense be fined not more than two hundred dollars ($200) or imprisoned not more than thirty (30) days, or both; and shall for the second offense be fined not more than five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned not more than sixty (60) days, or both; and shall for the third offense within any one calendar year be imprisoned for not more than ninety (90) days, and shall forfeit his or her license and be disqualified from obtaining a license within two (2) years after the forfeiture of license.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1918, ch. 1656, § 13; G.L. 1923, ch. 204, § 13; G.L. 1938, ch. 218, § 13; G.L. 1956, § 4-8-16.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Rhode Island may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.