2009 North Carolina Code
Chapter 166A - North Carolina Emergency Management Act.
§ 166A-4. Definitions.

§ 166A‑4.  Definitions.

The following definitions apply in this Article:

(1)        Account. – The State Emergency Response Account established in G.S. 166A‑6.02.

(1a)      Disaster. – An occurrence or imminent threat of widespread or severe damage, injury, or loss of life or property resulting from any natural or man‑made accidental, military or paramilitary cause.

(2)        Disaster Area. – The geographical area covered by a proclamation made by the Governor pursuant to G.S. 166A‑6(a1).

(2a)      Division. – The Division of Emergency Management established in Part 8 of Article 11 of Chapter 143B of the General Statutes.

(3)        Eligible Entity. – Any political subdivision. The term also includes an owner or operator of a private nonprofit utility that meets the eligibility criteria set out in this Article.

(4)        Emergency Management. – Those measures taken by the populace and governments at federal, State, and local levels to minimize the adverse effect of any type disaster, which includes the never‑ending preparedness cycle of planning, prevention, mitigation, warning, movement, shelter, emergency assistance, and recovery.

(5)        Emergency Management Agency. – A State or local governmental agency charged with coordination of all emergency management activities for its jurisdiction.

(5a)      Hazard Risk Management. – The systematic application of policies, practices, and resources to the identification, assessment, and control of risk associated with hazards affecting human health and safety and property. Hazard, risk, and cost‑benefit analysis are used to support development of risk reduction options, program objectives, and prioritization of issues and resources.

(6)        Political Subdivision. – Counties and incorporated cities, towns and villages.

(7)        Preliminary Damage Assessment. – The (initial estimate prepared) process used by State, local, or federal emergency management workers to determine the severity and magnitude of damage caused by a disaster event.

(8)        Private Nonprofit Utilities. – A utility that would be eligible for federal public assistance disaster funds pursuant to 44 C.F.R. Part 206.

(9)        Stafford Act. – The Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, Pub. L. No. 93‑288, 88 Stat. 143, codified generally at 42 U.S.C. § 5121, et seq., as amended.

(10)      State Acquisition and Relocation Fund. – State funding for supplemental grants to homeowners participating in a Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Acquisition and Relocation Program. These grants are used to acquire safe, decent, and sanitary housing by paying the difference between the cost of the home acquired under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Acquisition and Relocation Program and the cost of a comparable home located outside the 100‑year floodplain.  (1951, c. 1016, s. 2; 1953, c. 1099, s. 1; 1955, c. 387, s. 1; 1975, c. 734, ss. 4‑6, 14; 1977, c. 848, s. 2; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1310, s. 2; 1995, c. 509, s. 123; 2001‑214, s. 1; 2006‑66, ss. 6.5(c), (d); 2009‑193, ss. 1, 2; 2009‑397, s. 2.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. North Carolina may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.