2017 New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 50 - Employment Law
Article 4 - Labor Conditions; Payment of Wages
Section 50-4-10 - Forfeiture and penalties.

Universal Citation: NM Stat § 50-4-10 (2017)

50-4-10. Forfeiture and penalties.

A. An employer who violates or fails to comply with any provision of Sections 50-4-1 through 50-4-12 NMSA 1978 is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction for a first offense shall be sentenced pursuant to Section 31-19-1 NMSA 1978.

B. A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent offense of violating or failing to comply with any provision of Sections 50-4-1 through 50-4-12 NMSA 1978 is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be sentenced pursuant to Section 31-19-1 NMSA 1978 and shall be fined no less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense for which the person is convicted, which fine shall not be suspended, deferred or taken under advisement.

C. Each occurrence of a violation for which a person is convicted is a separate offense. Multiple violations arising from transactions with the same person or multiple violations arising from transactions with different people shall be considered separate occurrences.

D. In case the employer is a corporation, the fine provided in this section shall be assessed against the corporation as a penalty.

History: Laws 1937, ch. 109, 11; 1941 Comp., 57-311; 1953 Comp., 59-3-11; 2005, ch. 257, 8.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.