2018 Maryland Code
Public Safety
Title 5 - Firearms
Subtitle 3 - Handgun Permits
§ 5-304. Application for permit

  • (a) Oath. -- An application for a permit shall be made under oath.

  • (b) Fees -- In general. --

    • (1) Subject to subsections (c) and (d) of this section, the Secretary may charge a nonrefundable fee payable when an application is filed for a permit.

    • (2) The fee may not exceed:

      • (i) $ 75 for an initial application;

      • (ii) $ 50 for a renewal or subsequent application; and

      • (iii) $ 10 for a duplicate or modified permit.

    • (3) The fees under this subsection are in addition to the fees authorized under ยง 5-305 of this subtitle.

  • (c) Fees -- Reduction. -- The Secretary may reduce the fee under subsection (b) of this section accordingly for a permit that is granted for one day only and at one place only.

  • (d) Fees -- Exceptions. -- The Secretary may not charge a fee under subsection (b) of this section to:

    • (1) a State, county, or municipal public safety employee who is required to carry, wear, or transport a handgun as a condition of governmental employment; or

    • (2) a retired law enforcement officer of the State or a county or municipal corporation of the State.

  • (e) Fees -- Method of payment. -- The applicant may pay a fee under this section by a personal check, business check, certified check, or money order.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.