2017 Delaware Code
Title 19 - Labor
CHAPTER 7. EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES
Subchapter I General Provisions
§ 704. Polygraph, lie detector or similar test or examination prohibited as condition of employment or continuation of employment; definitions; jurisdiction; penalty; exclusion.

Universal Citation: 19 DE Code § 704 (2017)

(a) As used in this section, "person" includes any individual, corporation, partnership, firm, association and the State or any agency or political subdivision thereof, except as noted in subsection (d) of this section.

(b) No person, nor any agent or representative of a person, shall require, request or suggest that any employee or prospective employee take or shall cause, directly or indirectly, any employee or prospective employee to take a polygraph, lie detector or similar test or examination as a condition of employment or continuation of employment.

(c) Whoever violates this section shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for each violation. A civil penalty claim may be filed in any court of competent jurisdiction.

(d) This section shall not apply to any polygraph, lie detector or similar test or examination administered by any law-enforcement agency in the performance of official duties which shall include police officer applicant background investigations.

(e) As used in this section, the term "lie detector" shall include, but shall not be limited to, any electromechanical device which records or analyzes vocally produced sound frequency variations associated with stress for the purpose of determining the truth of any oral statement.

(f) Any employer who discharges or in any manner discriminates against an employee because that employee has made a complaint or has given information to the department pursuant to this section, or because the employee has caused to be instituted or is about to cause to be instituted any proceedings under this section, or has testified or is about to testify in any such proceedings, shall be deemed in violation of this section and shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for each violation.

19 Del. C. 1953, § 705; 55 Del. Laws, c. 357; 62 Del. Laws, c. 95, § 1; 66 Del. Laws, c. 107, §§ 1, 2; 67 Del. Laws, c. 260, § 1; 69 Del. Laws, c. 294, § 7; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 460, § 1.;

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Delaware may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.