2016 Alaska Statutes
Title 14 - EDUCATION, LIBRARIES, AND MUSEUMS
Chapter 14.20 - TEACHERS AND SCHOOL PERSONNEL
Article 01 - TEACHER CERTIFICATION
Sec. 14.20.010 Teacher certificate required.
A person may not be employed as a teacher in the public schools of the state unless that person possesses a valid teacher certificate except that a person who has made application to the department for a teacher certificate, including a preliminary teacher certificate under AS 14.20.015 , or renewal of a teacher certificate that has not been acted upon by the department may be employed as a teacher in the public schools of the state until the department has taken action on the application, but in no case may employment without a certificate last longer than three months. A person who has made application for a certificate under this section may teach for an additional 60 days beyond three months without a certificate if the department grants a written extension. An extension may be granted under this section for not more than 60 days to the person solely due to delay in the department's receipt of criminal justice information under AS 12.62 or a national criminal history record check under AS 12.62.400 .
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alaska may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.