2020 Code of Alabama
Title 28 - Intoxicating Liquor, Malt Beverages and Wine.
Chapter 1 - General Provisions.
Section 28-1-3.1 - Possession of Alcoholic Beverages Purchased From Military Liquor Stores, etc., by Eligible Persons; Violations.

Universal Citation: AL Code § 28-1-3.1 (2020)

Section 28-1-3.1

Possession of alcoholic beverages purchased from military liquor stores, etc., by eligible persons; violations.

(a) Any person 21 years of age or over who is on active duty, in active reserve status or retired from the armed forces of the United States, or the dependent of such person, or is otherwise eligible to purchase alcoholic beverages from military package or liquor stores, shall be entitled to have in his possession, in his motor vehicle, or a private residence or place of private residence or the curtilage thereof in any county in this state, for his own private use and not for resale, not more than the following quantity of alcoholic beverages as defined in Section 28-3-1, which beverages have been sold by a military liquor, package, Class 6 or similar store or outlet: three liters of liquor and one case of beer; or three liters of wine and one case of beer; or two cases of beer; provided, however, that no alcoholic beverages shall be kept, stored or possessed in the passenger area of any vehicle, or in the view of any passenger; and further provided that the beer and table wine must first have been purchased by the military package or liquor stores from licensed Alabama wholesalers, and liquor must first have been purchased by the military package and liquor stores from the Alabama ABC Board; and shall have sufficient identification, including, but not limited, to a sales receipt, to show that such alcoholic beverages were purchased in Alabama and sold by such military store or outlet; provided further that no rule or regulation of the board shall require a wholesaler to affix stamps or decals to beer or table wine.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person in possession of alcoholic beverages as enumerated in subsection (a) of this section to sell or offer to sell such alcoholic beverages to anyone not authorized to purchase such state untaxed beverages himself or to have in his possession at any one time any amount of state untaxed alcoholic beverages in excess of the quantity set forth in subsection (a) of this section. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $50.00 nor more than $500.00, or imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed six months, either or both, at the discretion of the court.

(Acts 1986, Ex. Sess., No. 86-648, p. 29; Act 2010-607, p. 1478, §1.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.