2020 Code of Alabama
Title 15 - Criminal Procedure.
Chapter 18 - Sentence and Punishment.
Article 4 - Costs and Fines.
Section 15-18-62 - Imprisonment for Failure to Pay Fines and Costs.

Universal Citation: AL Code § 15-18-62 (2020)

Section 15-18-62

Imprisonment for failure to pay fines and costs.

In cases of willful nonpayment of the fine and costs, the defendant shall either be imprisoned in the county jail or, at the discretion of the court, sentenced to hard labor for the county as follows:

(1) If the fine and costs do not exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250), no more than 10 days;

(2) If the fine and costs exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250) but do not exceed five hundred dollars ($500), no more than 20 days;

(3) If the fine and costs exceed five hundred dollars ($500), but do not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), no more than 30 days; and

(4) For every additional one hundred dollars ($100) or fractional part thereof, 4 days.

(Code 1852, §213; Code 1867, §3760; Code 1876, §4455; Code 1886, §4503; Code 1896, §5425; Code 1907, §7634; Code 1923, §5290; Code 1940, T. 15, §341; Act 2002-415, p. 1060, §1.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.