2019 Code of Alabama
Title 28 - Intoxicating Liquor, Malt Beverages and Wine.
Chapter 11 - Sale of Tobacco Products Regulated by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.
Section 28-11-8 - Failure to obtain tobacco permit.

Universal Citation: AL Code § 28-11-8 (2019)
Section 28-11-8Failure to obtain tobacco permit.

It shall be unlawful for any person to distribute tobacco or tobacco products without first obtaining from the board the appropriate permit. Failure to obtain or display a valid permit by January 1, 1998, shall result in issuance of a warning citation. The board shall conduct an information and education campaign by its Responsible Vendor Program to inform distributors of tobacco products at retail or in vending machines or self-service displays of the requirements of this law. Failure to obtain or display a valid permit pursuant to this chapter after January 1, 1998, shall constitute a misdemeanor offense. Each violation for selling tobacco products without a valid permit shall be treated as a separate offense and be punishable as follows: For the first violation by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) and for each subsequent violation by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500).

(Acts 1997, No. 97-423, p. 721, §8; Act 2009-578, p. 1697, §1.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.