2017 Code of Alabama
Title 28 - INTOXICATING LIQUOR, MALT BEVERAGES AND WINE.
Chapter 3A - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSING CODE.
Section 28-3A-20.2 - Tasting of liquor or wine conducted by licensed manufacturer or its representative.
(a) Notwithstanding any provision of law, a tasting of liquor or wine may be conducted by a licensed manufacturer or its representative inside the premises of a retail licensee that is licensed to sell liquor for off-premises consumption only or inside a state liquor store, in compliance with this section and Section 28-3A-25 and rules of the Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.
(b) Each state liquor store and each holder of a retail license for the sale of liquor for off-premises consumption only may permit a licensed manufacturer or its representative to conduct at no charge to the consumer, inside the state liquor store or the premises of the licensee, tastings of wine and distilled spirits. These tastings may not exceed one ounce serving of each wine, the number of wines being limited to no more than four products at any one tasting; and one-quarter ounce serving of each distilled spirit, the number of distilled spirits being limited to no more than two products at any one tasting. The tasting shall commence no later than six o'clock p.m. and end within two hours of the initial tasting. There shall be only one tasting of any kind on a given premises within a 24-hour period.
(c) Tastings may be held at not more than 10 percent of the state liquor stores during the calendar year ending December 31, 2016. During the 2017 calendar year, tastings may be held at not more than 20 percent of the state liquor stores. Beginning January 1, 2018, tastings may be held at not more than 28 percent of the state liquor stores during any calendar year.(Act 2016-111, §1.)