2006 Alabama Code - Section 34-35-7 — License fee; bond.
(a) Each applicant for a transient merchant license must include a license fee of $250.00 with the application, to be deposited in the county treasury that issues the license. The license applicant must also execute a cash bond or a surety bond issued by a corporate surety authorized to do business in this state in an amount that is the lesser of $2,000.00 or five percent of the wholesale value of any merchandise or services to be offered for sale. The surety bond must be issued in favor of the state and must be conditioned that the applicant will pay all taxes due from the applicant to the state or to a political subdivision of the state, any fines assessed against the applicant or the applicant's agents or employees for a violation of this chapter, and any judgment rendered against the applicant or the applicant's agents or employees in a cause of action commenced by a purchaser of merchandise or services not later than one year after the date the merchandise or services are sold by the applicant.
(b) The transient merchant must maintain the bond during the period that the merchant conducts business in the county and for a one-year period after the termination of the business. After the transient merchant furnishes satisfactory proof to the probate judge that the merchant has satisfied all claims of purchasers of merchandise from or services offered by the merchant, and that all state and local sales taxes and other applicable taxes have been paid, the bond shall be released.
(Acts 1985, No. 85-693, p. 1114, §7.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.