2006 Alabama Code - Section 25-4-133 — Penalties for delinquent contribution payments and reports.
(a) Any employer without good cause failing to pay any contribution within the time required by this chapter or the rules and regulations of the director shall be required by the director to pay, in addition thereto, a penalty of 10 percent of the amount thereof, together with interest on said contributions at the rate prescribed in Section 25-4-132. If the failure to pay on the part of the employer is due to fraud, an additional penalty of 15 percent shall be assessed against, and collected from, such defaulting employer.
(b) Any employer without good cause failing to file any quarterly wage and contribution report within the time required by this chapter or the rules and regulations of the director shall be required by the director to pay a penalty of twenty-five dollars ($25) or 10 percent of the net contributions due, whichever is greater, for his or its failure to file such report when due. Such penalty shall be in addition to any penalty assessed under the provisions of subsection (a) of this section and shall apply to each delinquent report separately. The penalty shall become effective for delinquent reports for calendar quarters which begin on or after January 1, 1996. For years prior to January 1, 1996, the penalty shall be as was provided in this section prior to January 1, 1996.
(Acts 1939, No. 497, p. 721; Code 1940, T. 26, §239; Acts 1973, No. 1057, p. 1716, §8; Acts 1995, No. 95-311, p. 582, §2.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.