Wyoming Case Law

The Wyoming state court system is divided into two levels. The only appellate court in Wyoming is the Wyoming Supreme Court, which consists of five judges. The Supreme Court reviews appeals of decisions by trial courts. It also supervises the state court system and holds original jurisdiction over certain limited matters, such as habeas corpus petitions. Decisions by the Wyoming Supreme Court are final unless the U.S. Supreme Court agrees to review an appeal of a decision.

The lower level of the Wyoming state court system consists of the Wyoming District Courts, the Wyoming Circuit Courts, and the Wyoming Municipal Courts. The District Courts are trial courts with general jurisdiction over civil and criminal cases. These courts also review appeals of decisions by Circuit Courts and Municipal Courts. The Circuit Courts review cases involving misdemeanors, domestic violence, and civil matters with no more than $7,000 at issue. The Municipal Courts review cases involving traffic offenses and violations of local ordinances.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.