Colorado Case Law

The Colorado state court system is divided into three levels. The highest court in Colorado is the Colorado Supreme Court, which consists of seven justices. The Supreme Court reviews appeals of decisions by the Colorado Court of Appeals and the Colorado Water Court. It also reviews appeals of decisions by other courts in limited situations. Decisions by the Colorado Supreme Court are final unless the U.S. Supreme Court agrees to review an appeal of a decision.

The middle level of the Colorado state court system is the Colorado Court of Appeals, which consists of 22 judges. The Court of Appeals reviews most appeals of decisions by lower courts. It also reviews appeals of decisions by some state administrative agencies.

The lowest level of the Colorado state court system consists of the Colorado District Courts, the Colorado County Courts, and the Colorado Municipal Courts. The District Courts are trial courts with general jurisdiction over civil and criminal cases. These courts also review appeals of decisions by County Courts and Municipal Courts. The jurisdiction of the County Courts is limited to certain types of cases. These include misdemeanors, traffic violations, and civil matters with no more than $15,000 at issue. The Municipal Courts review cases that involve violations of local ordinances. 

The Denver area also contains two courts that review distinctive types of cases in the City and County of Denver. The Denver Probate Court reviews cases related to estates, guardianships, conservatorships, mental health, and related matters. The Denver Juvenile Court reviews cases that involve people under the age of 18.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.