2011 Wyoming Statutes
TITLE 31 - MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 7 - DRIVER'S LICENSES
31-7-404. Driving without interlock device.


WY Stat § 31-7-404 (1997 through Reg Sess) What's This?

(a) No person licensed under this article shall drive any motor vehicle, without a functioning and certified ignition interlock device.

(b) No person shall remove or otherwise circumvent an installed ignition interlock device nor blow or solicit another to blow into an ignition interlock device for the purpose of rendering an operable vehicle to a person whose driving privileges have been restricted under this article.

(c) A person holding a restricted license under this article who violates subsection (a) or (b) of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall:

(i) For a first offense, be imprisoned for not less than seven (7) days nor more than six (6) months, and shall not be eligible for probation or suspension of sentence or release on any other basis until serving at least seven (7) days in jail. In addition, the person shall be fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00);

(ii) For a second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section during the same license period is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be imprisoned for not less than thirty (30) days nor more than six (6) months and shall not be eligible for probation, suspension of sentence or release on any other basis until serving at least thirty (30) days in jail. In addition, the person shall be fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00);

(iii) Shall be considered to have been convicted under W.S. 31-5-233 for the purposes of the ignition interlock device requirements of W.S. 31-5-233(f)(ii) through (v).

(d) A person violating subsection (b) of this section who is not the restricted licensee is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both. Upon a subsequent violation of subsection (b) of this section, the violator shall no longer be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted license should that person ever apply and otherwise be eligible.

(e) The courts of this state shall forward to the department a copy of the record pertaining to the disposition of any arrest or citation for a violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section within ten (10) days after such record becomes available.

(f) The provisions of subsection (b) of this section shall not apply to any person starting a vehicle when necessary in the interest of safety or for the repair of the device or vehicle nor shall they apply to any ignition interlock service provider while performing his duties as an ignition interlock service provider.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.