Section V-21

[Previous] [Next] [Up] [Top]

Section V-21: Conflict of interests prohibited - Board on Legislative Compensation.

  The Legislature shall enact laws to prohibit members of the
Legislature from engaging in activities or having interests which
conflict with the proper discharge of their duties and
responsibilities.  The Board on Legislative Compensation is
hereby created.  Said Board shall be composed of five members
appointed by the Governor, two members appointed by the President
Pro Tempore of the Senate, and two members appointed by the
Speaker of the House of Representatives.  The members appointed
by the Governor shall be from religious organizations,
communications media, nonstate-supported educational
institutions, labor organizations, and retail business;  the
members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate
shall be from agricultural and civic organizations; and the
members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives
shall be from manufacturing and from professional fields not
otherwise specified.  No member of the Legislature may be
appointed to or serve on the Board.  In addition to the members
above provided for, the Chairman of the Tax Commission and the
Director of State Finance shall serve as ex officio nonvoting
members of said Board.  The Chairman of said Board shall be
designated by the Governor.  Members of the Legislature shall
receive such compensation as shall be fixed by the Board on
Legislative Compensation.  Said Board shall each two years review
the compensation paid to the members of the Legislature and shall
be empowered to change such compensation; such change to become
effective on the fifteenth day following the succeeding general
election.  The members of the Board shall serve without
compensation, but shall be entitled to receive necessary travel
and subsistence expense as provided by law for other state

[Previous] [Next] [Up] [Top]
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.