Article 28 Section 1 - English as the official language; applicability

1. English as the official language; applicability

Section 1. (1) The English language is the official language of the state of Arizona.

(2) As the official language of this state, the English language is the language of the ballot, the public schools and all government functions and actions.

(3)(a) This article applies to:

(i) The legislative, executive and judicial branches of government.

(ii) All political subdivisions, departments, agencies, organizations, and instrumentalities of this state, including local governments and municipalities.

(iii) All statutes, ordinances, rules, orders, programs and policies.

(iv) All government officials and employees during the performance of government business.

(b) As used in this article, the phrase "this state and all political subdivisions of this state" shall include every entity, person, action or item described in this section, as appropriate to the circumstances.