2022 Wyoming Statutes
Title 23 - Game and Fish
Chapter 2 - Licenses; Fees
Article 1 - Game Animals and Game Birds
Section 23-2-107 - Wild Bison Licenses.

Universal Citation: WY Stat § 23-2-107 (2022)

23-2-107. Wild bison licenses.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, any person who will be fourteen (14) years of age or older prior to September 15 of the season for which the wild bison license is issued and who qualifies under W.S. 23-2-106 may apply to the department for a wild bison license.

(b) Repealed by Laws 1999, ch. 92, § 2.

(c) The commission shall promulgate reasonable rules and regulations regulating wild bison licenses and the management of wild bison. The rules shall provide for:

(i) License drawing procedures;

(ii) Repealed by Laws 2017, ch. 159, § 2.

(iii) Notification of license recipients as to when and where they may hunt;

(iv) Open and closed hunting seasons;

(v) Tagging requirements for carcasses, skulls and hides;

(vi) Possession limits; and

(vii) Requirements for transportation and exportation.

(d) Any person who takes a wild bison without a license in an area open to hunting or takes a bison within a closed area is guilty of a high misdemeanor punishable as provided in W.S. 23-6-202(a)(ii).

(e) A resident applicant shall pay a license fee of four hundred twelve dollars ($412.00) for a license to harvest any wild bison or two hundred fifty-eight dollars ($258.00) for a license to harvest a female or calf wild bison and shall pay the fee required by W.S. 23-2-101(e). A nonresident applicant shall pay a license fee of four thousand four hundred dollars ($4,400.00) for a license to harvest any wild bison or two thousand seven hundred fifty dollars ($2,750.00) for a license to harvest a female or calf wild bison and shall pay the fee required by W.S. 23-2-101(e). The fee charged under W.S. 23-1-701 shall be in addition to the fee imposed under this subsection.

(f) No person may apply for or receive more than one (1) cow or calf wild bison license in any consecutive five (5) year period, except as authorized pursuant to W.S. 23-1-703(c).

(i) Repealed by Laws 2022, ch. 43, § 2.

(ii) Repealed by Laws 2022, ch. 43, § 2.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.