2019 Wyoming Statutes
Title 7 - Criminal Procedure
Chapter 19 - Criminal History Records
Article 3 - Sex Offender Registration
Section 7-19-307 - Penalties.

Universal Citation: WY Stat § 7-19-307 (2019)

7-19-307. Penalties.

(a) Failure to register, update any registration information or pay any fee required under subsection (r) of this section within the time required under W.S. 7-19-302 constitutes a per se violation of this act and is punishable as provided in this section. The division shall notify the appropriate authorities when it discovers that an offender fails to register, update any registration information or pay any fee required under subsection (r) of this section within the time required under W.S. 7-19-302 or when an offender absconds.

(b) An arrest on charges of failure to register, service of an information or complaint for a violation of this act, or arraignment on charges for a violation of this act, constitutes actual notice of the duty to register. Any person charged with the crime of failure to register under this act who asserts as a defense the lack of notice of the duty to register shall register immediately following actual notice of the duty through arrest, service or arraignment. Failure to register as required under this subsection constitutes grounds for filing another charge of failing to register. Registering following arrest, service or arraignment on charges shall not relieve the offender from criminal liability for failure to register prior to the filing of the original charge.

(c) A person who knowingly fails to register as required by W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or both.

(d) A person convicted of a subsequent violation of knowingly failing to register as required by W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, or both.

(e) A person who willfully fails to pay fees required under W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months, or both.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.