2019 Wyoming Statutes
Title 31 - Motor Vehicles
Chapter 5 - Regulation of Traffic on Highways
Article 14 - Safety Belt Usage
Section 31-5-1402 - Safety Belts Required to Be Used; Exceptions; Reduction in Fine.

Universal Citation: WY Stat § 31-5-1402 (2019)

31-5-1402. Safety belts required to be used; exceptions; reduction in fine.

(a) Each driver and passenger of a motor vehicle operated in this state shall wear, and each driver of a motor vehicle shall require that a passenger under twelve (12) years of age shall wear, a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt when the motor vehicle is in motion on public streets and highways.

(b) Subsection (a) of this section does not apply to:

(i) Any person who has a written statement from a physician that it is not advisable for the person to wear a safety belt for physical or medical reasons;

(ii) Any passenger vehicle which is not required to be equipped with safety belts under federal law;

(iii) A carrier of the United States postal service performing duties as a postal carrier;

(iv) Any person properly secured in a child safety restraint system in accordance with W.S. 31-5-1301 through 31-5-1305; or

(v) Any person occupying a seat in a vehicle in which all operable safety restraints are being used by the driver or passengers and any person occupying a seat in a vehicle originally manufactured without a safety belt.

(c) No violation of this section shall:

(i) Be counted as a moving violation for the purpose of suspending a driver's license under W.S. 31-7-129;

(ii) Be grounds for increasing insurance premiums or made a part of the abstracts kept by the department pursuant to W.S. 31-5-1214.

(d) No motor vehicle shall be halted solely for a violation of this section.

(e) All citations for violations of the motor vehicle laws of this state and for violations of traffic ordinances or traffic regulations of a local authority shall contain a notation by the issuing officer indicating whether the driver and passengers complied with this section. Compliance with this section shall entitle a licensee to a ten dollar ($10.00) reduction in the fine otherwise imposed by any court having jurisdiction over the alleged offense. The driver who violates this section may be issued a citation and may be subject to a fine of not more than twenty-five dollars ($25.00). Any passenger who violates this section may be issued a citation and may be subject to a fine of not more than ten dollars ($10.00).

(f) Evidence of a person's failure to wear a safety belt as required by this act shall not be admissible in any civil action.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.