2018 Wyoming Statutes
SECTION 14-3-304 - Purchase by minors prohibited.

Universal Citation: WY Stat § 14-3-304 (2018)

14-3-304. Purchase by minors prohibited.

(a) No person under the age of eighteen (18) years shall purchase or attempt to purchase tobacco products, or misrepresent his identity or age, or use any false or altered identification for the purpose of purchasing or attempting to purchase tobacco products.

(b) Any person violating subsection (a) of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than:

(i) Fifty dollars ($50.00) for a first violation committed within a twenty-four (24) month period;

(ii) Two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for a second violation committed within a twenty-four (24) month period;

(iii) Seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) for a third or subsequent violation committed within a twenty-four (24) month period.

(c) In lieu of the fine under subsection (b) of this section, the court may allow the defendant to perform community service or attend a tobacco cessation program and be granted credit against his fine and court costs at the rate of five dollars ($5.00) for each hour of work performed or each hour of tobacco cessation program attended.

(d) After twenty-four (24) months or upon reaching the age of majority, whichever occurs later, a criminal conviction under this section may be expunged in accordance with W.S. 14-6-241.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.