2015 Wyoming Code
TITLE 26 - INSURANCE CODE
CHAPTER 44 - INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY SYSTEM REGULATORY ACT
SECTION 26-44-113. - Sanctions.
(a) Any insurer failing, without just cause, to file any registration statement as required in this act shall be required, after notice and hearing, to pay a penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each day's delay, to be recovered by the commissioner. The penalty recovered shall be paid into the general fund. The commissioner may reduce the penalty if the insurer demonstrates to the commissioner that the imposition of the penalty would constitute a financial hardship to the insurer.
(b) Any director or officer of an insurance holding company system who knowingly violates, participates in, or assents to, or who knowingly permits any of the officers or agents of the insurer to engage in transactions or make investments which violate this act is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, or both.
(c) Whenever it appears to the commissioner that any insurer subject to this act or any director, officer, employee or agent of the insurer has engaged in any transaction or entered into a contract which is subject to this act and which would not have been approved had approval been requested, the commissioner may order the insurer to cease and desist immediately any further activity under that transaction or contract. After notice and hearing the commissioner may also order the insurer to void any contracts and restore the status quo if the action is in the best interest of the policyholders, creditors or the public.
(d) Any officer, director or employee of an insurance holding company system who willfully and knowingly subscribes to or makes or causes to be made any false statements or false reports or false filings with the intent to deceive the commissioner in the performance of his duties under this article is guilty of a felony and shall be fined not more than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000.00), imprisoned for not more than ten (10) years, or both.
(e) Whenever it appears to the commissioner that any person has committed a violation of W.S. 26-44-103 which prevents the full understanding of the enterprise risk to the insurer by affiliates or by the insurance holding company system, the violation may serve as an independent basis for disapproving dividends or distributions and for placing the insurer under an order in accordance with chapter 28 of this title.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.