2014 Wyoming Statutes
TITLE 6 - CRIMES AND OFFENSES
CHAPTER 4 - OFFENSES AGAINST MORALS, DECENCY AND FAMILY
ARTICLE 4 - OFFENSES AGAINST THE FAMILY
6-4-402. Incest; penalties; disclosure or publication of identifying information; "minor victim".


WY Stat § 6-4-402 (2014) What's This?

6-4-402. Incest; penalties; disclosure or publication of identifying information; "minor victim".

(a) A person is guilty of incest if he knowingly commits sexual intrusion, as defined by W.S. 6-2-301(a)(vii), or sexual contact, as defined by W.S. 6-2-301(a)(vi), with an ancestor or descendant or a brother or sister of the whole or half blood. The relationships referred to herein include relationships of:

(i) Parent and child by adoption;

(ii) Blood relationships without regard to legitimacy; and

(iii) Stepparent and stepchild.

(b) Incest is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than fifteen (15) years, a fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00), or both.

(c) Prior to the filing of an information or indictment charging a violation under this section, neither the name of the person accused or the victim nor any other information reasonably likely to disclose their identity shall be released or negligently allowed to be released to the public by any public employee, except as authorized by the judge with jurisdiction over the criminal charges. The name of the person accused may be released to the public to aid or facilitate an arrest.

(d) After the filing of an information or indictment and absent a request to release the identity of a minor victim by the victim or another acting on behalf of a minor victim, the trial court shall restrict the disclosure or publication of information reasonably likely to identify the minor victim.

(e) Any person who willfully violates subsection (c) or (d) of this section or who willfully neglects or refuses to obey any court order made pursuant thereto is guilty of contempt and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) or be imprisoned in the county jail not more than ninety (90) days, or both.

(f) A release of a name or other information to the public in violation of the proscriptions of subsection (c) or (d) of this section shall not stand as a bar to the prosecution of a defendant nor be grounds for dismissal of any charges against a defendant.

(g) As used in this section, "minor victim" means a person under the age of eighteen (18) years.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.