2012 Wyoming Statutes
21-17-117. School of energy resources; creation authorized; University of Wyoming energy resources council established; reports.

WY Stat § 21-17-117 (through 2012) What's This?

(a) Subject to legislative appropriation, the University of Wyoming shall operate the school of energy resources.

(b) The school of energy resources shall have the following objectives:

(i) To provide nationally competitive undergraduate and graduate instruction in energy related disciplines, particularly those of importance to develop Wyoming's energy resources;

(ii) To advance the state-of-the-art in Wyoming energy related science, technology and economics research; and

(iii) To support scientific and engineering outreach through dissemination of information to Wyoming's energy industries, companies, community colleges and governmental agencies.

(c) The school of energy resources shall:

(i) Establish relationships with Wyoming energy companies and coordinate with other energy industry organizations to sustain and optimize the development of Wyoming's energy portfolio. For the purposes of this section, Wyoming's energy portfolio includes both nonrenewable and renewable resources;

(ii) Establish relationships with the Wyoming community colleges creating local programs to enrich students' education in the Wyoming energy industry operations;

(iii) Maintain flexibility in its focus and structure to be capable of responding to the changing needs of Wyoming's energy industries with regard to instruction, research and outreach.

(d) The university's board of trustees shall establish the structure and policies for operation of the school of energy resources consistent with this section, and shall engage as many academic departments and colleges as possible in support of the school.

(e) The University of Wyoming energy resources council is created and shall provide direction to the school of energy resources regarding identifying and prioritizing issues which should be targeted for research and outreach. The University of Wyoming energy resources council shall consist of eleven (11) members, including the president of the university and the director of the Ruckleshaus institute of environment and natural resources, both of whom are ex officio nonvoting members. One (1) member of the house of representatives shall be appointed by the speaker of the house and one (1) member of the senate shall be appointed by the president of the senate. Each appointed legislative member shall serve a two (2) year term. The remaining seven (7) members shall be appointed for terms of three (3) years, except that for the initial appointments two (2) members shall be appointed for one (1) year and two (2) members shall be appointed for two (2) years. These seven (7) members shall represent to the greatest extent practicable the diverse components of Wyoming's energy industries, and shall be appointed by the governor and approved with the advice and consent of the senate, in accordance with W.S. 28-12-101 through 28-12-103. The council shall select a chairman and vice-chairman from among its members.

(f) The university shall report annually, not later than October 1, to the joint minerals, business and economic development interim committee, the joint appropriations interim committee and the joint education interim committee regarding all revenues to and expenditures by the school of energy resources during the preceding fiscal year, accomplishments of the school of energy resources and its benefits to Wyoming's energy economy.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.