2011 Wyoming Statutes
TITLE 31 - MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 9 - MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY
31-9-202. Suspension of license and registration after accident report; exclusions and security requirements.
(a) Within thirty (30) days after receipt of an investigating officer's report of a motor vehicle accident within this state as required under W.S. 31-5-1106 through 31-5-1108 or after a demand for additional security under W.S. 31-9-207(b), the division shall with respect to each driver and motor vehicle involved in the accident, and except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, suspend:
(i) The Wyoming driver's license of each driver of a motor vehicle required to be registered in this state;
(ii) All Wyoming registrations of each owner whose motor vehicle is required to be registered in this state;
(iii) The nonresident driving privilege of each driver of a motor vehicle required to be registered in this state; and
(iv) The nonresident driving privilege of each owner of a motor vehicle required to be registered in this state.
(b) The suspension in subsection (a) of this section shall be imposed unless the driver, the owner or both file proof of financial responsibility.
(c) This section does not apply to:
(i) An owner if the owner had in effect at the time of the accident an automobile liability policy with respect to the motor vehicle involved in the accident;
(ii) The driver, if not the owner of the motor vehicle, if there was in effect at the time of the accident an automobile liability policy or bond with respect to his operation of motor vehicles not owned by him;
(iii) The driver or owner whose liability for damages resulting from the accident is, in the judgment of the division, covered by any other form of liability insurance policy or surety bond;
(iv) Any person qualifying as a self-insurer under W.S. 31-9-414; or
(v) The owner or driver, if a personal surety bond is filed with the division in an amount required by the division under this act with at least two (2) individual sureties each owning real estate within the state, which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond to be approved by a judge of the district court.
(d) No insurance policy or surety bond is effective under this section unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state, except that if the motor vehicle was not registered in this state, or was a motor vehicle which was registered elsewhere than in this state at the effective date of the policy or bond, or the most recent renewal thereof, the policy or bond is not effective under this section unless the insurance company or surety company if not authorized to do business in this state executes a power of attorney authorizing the division to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action upon the policy or bond arising out of the accident. Every policy or bond shall be subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) because of bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident and, subject to the limit for one (1) person, to a limit of not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00) because of bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident.
(e) Upon receipt of notice of the accident, the insurance company or surety company which issued the policy or bond shall furnish for filing with the division a written notice that the policy or bond was in effect at the time of the accident. This subsection does not apply to any person holding a motor carrier permit or certificate under W.S. 31-18-209 who furnishes proof of financial responsibility by filing a certificate of insurance under W.S. 31-9-402(a)(i) or a bond under W.S. 31-9-402(a)(ii) if the certificate or bond:
(i) Is a continuing certificate or bond;
(ii) Remains in full force and effect until cancelled; and
(iii) May not be cancelled until notice in writing of the cancellation has been on file with the division for thirty (30) days.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wyoming may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.