2017 Wisconsin Statutes & Annotations
Chapter 707. Time-share ownership.
707.47 Purchaser's right to cancel.

Universal Citation: WI Stat § 707.47 (2017)

707.47 Purchaser's right to cancel.

(1)Provision of statement. A person required to deliver a time-share disclosure statement under s. 707.41 (2) shall, before transfer of a time share and no later than the date of any contract for the purchase of a time share, provide a prospective purchaser with a copy of the time-share disclosure statement and all amendments and supplements to the statement.

(2)Right to cancel. If delivery of a time-share disclosure statement is required under s. 707.41 (2), the purchaser may cancel a contract for the purchase of a time share until midnight of the 5th business day after whichever of the following is later:

(a) The date that the contract is executed.

(b) The date on which the purchaser receives the last of the documents required to be provided to the purchaser under sub. (1).

(3)Activity before cancellation period expires. No title may be recorded, deed delivered or deposit released until the cancellation period under sub. (2) has expired. Nothing in this subsection or sub. (4) precludes the execution of documents before the cancellation period expires, for delivery after the cancellation period expires.

(4)Waiver prohibited. The purchaser or any person on behalf of the purchaser may not waive the right to cancel under sub. (2).

(5)Notice of cancellation. If a purchaser elects to cancel a contract under sub. (2), the purchaser may do so by personally-delivering notice of the cancellation to the seller or by mailing the notice to the developer or to the developer's agent for service of process. If mailed, any notice of cancellation shall be considered given on the date that the notice is postmarked.

(6)Refund.

(a) Cancellation under sub. (2) shall be without penalty, and, except as provided in par. (b), all payments made by the purchaser before cancellation shall be refunded within 20 days after receipt of the notice of cancellation or within 5 days after receipt of funds from the purchaser's cleared check, whichever is later.

(b) If the purchaser has used or occupied the time-share property for more than 12 hours before cancellation, the funds to be returned to the purchaser may be reduced by a reasonable charge to cover the length of stay plus the cost for damages, if any, to the time-share property directly attributable to the purchaser's use or occupancy of the time share property.

History: 1987 a. 399.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wisconsin may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.