2011 Wisconsin Code
Chapter 346. Rules of the road.
346.43 Penalty for violating sections 346.37 to 346.42.

346.43

346.43 Penalty for violating sections 346.37 to 346.42.

346.43(1)

(1)

346.43(1)(a)

(a) Any pedestrian violating s. 346.37 or 346.38 may be required to forfeit not less than $2 nor more than $20 for the first offense and not less than $10 nor more than $50 for the 2nd or subsequent conviction within a year.

346.43(1)(b)

(b)

346.43(1)(b)1.

1. Unless otherwise provided in subd. 2. or 3., any operator of a vehicle violating ss. 346.37 to 346.39 may be required to forfeit not less than $20 nor more than $40 for the first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for the 2nd or subsequent conviction within a year.

346.43(1)(b)2.

2. Any operator of a bicycle or electric personal assistive mobility device violating s. 346.37, 346.38 or 346.39 may be required to forfeit not more than $20.

346.43(1)(b)3.

3. If an operator of a vehicle violates s. 346.37 or 346.39 where persons engaged in work in a highway maintenance or construction area or in a utility work area are at risk from traffic, any applicable minimum and maximum forfeiture specified in subd. 1. for the violation shall be doubled.

346.43(2)

(2) Any person violating s. 346.42 may be required to forfeit not less than $30 nor more than $300.

346.43(3)

(3) Any person violating s. 346.41 may be required to forfeit not less than $25 nor more than $200 for the first offense and may be required to forfeit not less than $50 nor more than $500 for the 2nd or subsequent conviction within a year.

346.43 - ANNOT.

History: 1971 c. 278, 336; 1973 c. 182; 1983 a. 27; 1985 a. 69 s. 16; 1993 a. 198; 1997 a. 277; 2001 a. 90.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wisconsin may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.