2011 Wisconsin Code
Chapter 342. Vehicle title and anti-theft law.
342.065 Title for salvage vehicle.

342.065

342.065 Title for salvage vehicle.

342.065(1)

(1)

342.065(1)(a)

(a) A purchaser of a salvage vehicle that is not currently titled as a salvage vehicle shall, promptly after delivery to him or her of the salvage vehicle, apply for a salvage vehicle certificate of title by submitting to the department the properly assigned certificate of title under s. 342.15 (1) (c) or other evidence of ownership, the applicant's statement that the vehicle is a salvage vehicle, an application for a salvage certificate of title and the required fee.

342.065(1)(b)

(b) The owner of a salvage vehicle that is not currently titled as a salvage vehicle shall promptly apply for a salvage vehicle certificate of title by submitting to the department the certificate of title for the vehicle or other evidence of ownership, the applicant's statement that the vehicle is a salvage vehicle, an application for a salvage certificate of title and the required fee. This paragraph does not apply to a salvage vehicle that is purchased by a salvage vehicle purchaser subject to the requirements of par. (a).

342.065(1)(c)

(c) If the interest of an owner in a vehicle that is titled in this state is not transferred upon payment of an insurance claim that, including any deductible amounts, exceeds 70% of the fair market value of the vehicle, any insurer of the vehicle shall, within 30 days of payment of the insurance claim, notify the department in writing of the claim payment and that the vehicle meets the statutory definition of a salvage vehicle, in the manner and form prescribed by the department.

342.065(2)

(2) Upon notification from an insurer under sub. (1) (c), the department shall promptly notify the owner of the salvage vehicle that he or she is required to apply for a salvage vehicle certificate of title under sub. (1) (b).

342.065(3)

(3) Upon compliance with the requirements of sub. (1), the department shall issue a salvage vehicle certificate of title for the vehicle. The certificate shall include the words "This is a salvage vehicle".

342.065(4)

(4)

342.065(4)(a)

(a) Except as provided in par. (b), any person who violates sub. (1) may be required to forfeit not more than $1,000.

342.065(4)(b)

(b) Any person who violates sub. (1) with intent to defraud is guilty of a Class H felony.

342.065 - ANNOT.

History: 1993 a. 63 s. 5, 6, 11; 1997 a. 283; 2001 a. 109.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Wisconsin may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.