2022 Code of Virginia
Title 65.2 - Workers' Compensation
Chapter 9 - Reports and Records
§ 65.2-902. Failure to make required reports; civil penalty

Universal Citation: VA Code § 65.2-902 (2022)

A. Any employer, insurance carrier, self-insurer, group self-insurance association, or third party administrator who fails to make any report required by the Commission pursuant to this title shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $500 for each failure. If the Commission determines that any such failure is willful, it shall assess a civil penalty of not less than $500 and not more than $5,000. The civil penalty herein provided may be assessed by the Commission in an open hearing with the right of review and appeal as in other cases.

B. Any civil penalty assessed pursuant to this section shall be divided equally between and paid into the administrative fund established in Chapter 10 (§ 65.2-1000 et seq.) and the Uninsured Employer's Fund established in Chapter 12 (§ 65.2-1200 et seq.). The Commission may add the costs of collection of such civil penalty to the aggregate civil penalty owed, in which event such costs shall be paid into the administrative fund established in Chapter 10 (§ 65.2-1000 et seq.).

Code 1950, § 65-118; 1968, c. 660, § 65.1-127; 1970, c. 470; 1991, c. 355; 1993, c. 378; 2014, c. 203.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Virginia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.