2018 Vermont Statutes
Title 23 - Motor Vehicles
Chapter 39 - Commercial Driver License Act
§ 4105 Notification required by driver

Universal Citation: 23 V.S.A. § 4105

§ 4105. Notification required by driver

(a) The driver of a commercial motor vehicle shall notify the State and employers of convictions as follows:

(1) The State. Any driver of a commercial motor vehicle holding a driver license issued by this State, who is convicted of violating any state law or local ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control in any other state or federal, provincial, territorial, or municipal laws of Canada, other than parking violations, shall notify the Commissioner in the manner specified by the Commissioner within 30 days of the date of conviction.

(2) Employers. Any driver of a commercial motor vehicle holding a driver license issued by this State, who is convicted of violating any state law or local ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control in this or any other state or federal, provincial, territorial, or municipal laws of Canada, other than parking violations, shall notify his or her employer in writing of the conviction within 30 days of the date of conviction.

(b) Notification of suspensions, revocations, and cancellations. A driver whose driver license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled by any state, who loses the privilege to drive a commercial motor vehicle in any state for any period, or who is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for any period, shall notify his or her employer of that fact before the end of the business day following the day the driver received notice of that fact.

(c) Notification of previous employment. Any person who applies to be a commercial motor vehicle driver must provide the employer, at the time of the application, with the following information for the 10 years preceding the date of application:

(1) a list of the names and addresses of the applicant's previous employers for which the applicant was a driver of a commercial motor vehicle;

(2) the dates between which the applicant drove for each employer; and

(3) the reason for leaving that employer.

The applicant must certify that all information furnished is true and complete. An employer may require an applicant to provide additional information. (Added 1989, No. 239 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Vermont may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.