2012 Vermont Statutes
Title 23 Motor Vehicles
Chapter 13 OPERATION OF VEHICLES
§ 1434 Penalties


23 V.S.A. § 1434. What's This?

§ 1434. Penalties

(a) The operation of a vehicle on a public highway in excess of the height, width or length limits as prescribed in section 1431 or 1432 of this title without first obtaining a permit to operate the vehicle, whether or not a permit is available, shall be a traffic violation as defined in section 2302 of this title and the violation shall be punishable by a fine of $300.00 for the first offense and by a fine of $600.00 for a second offense and by a fine of $800.00 for a third or subsequent offense occurring within a two-year period, which shall also be considered a traffic violation, notwithstanding the provisions of section 2302 of this title.

(b) The operation of a vehicle on a public highway in excess of the legal height, width or length as prescribed in section 1431 or 1432 of this title, designated by permit issued in conformance with section 1400 of this title shall be a traffic violation as defined in section 2302 of this title and shall be punishable by a fine of $300.00 for the first offense, by a fine of $600.00 for any second offense and by a fine of $800.00 for a third or subsequent offense occurring within a two-year period, which shall also be considered a traffic violation notwithstanding the provisions of section 2302 of this title.

(c) In the case of a violation under subsection (a) of this section, the commissioner may refuse to issue a permit to the violator under section 1400 of this title for a period not to exceed three months, if the owner or lessee commits four or more violations within a two-year period. If the holder of a permit commits four or more violations under subsection (b) of this section within a two-year period, the commissioner may suspend, for a period not to exceed three months, any permit issued to the violator under section 1400 of this title. For the purposes of this section, the owner or lessee of the vehicle shall be considered the holder of, or applicant for, the permit. (Added 1995, No. 119 (Adj. Sess.), § 11, eff. April 25, 1996; amended 1997, No. 46, § 5; 1997, No. 120 (Adj. Sess.), § 9e.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Vermont may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.