2012 Vermont Statutes
Title 23 Motor Vehicles
Chapter 13 OPERATION OF VEHICLES
§ 1227 Certified inspection mechanics
§ 1227. Certified inspection mechanics
(a) Periodic inspections may be performed only by mechanics who have been certified by the commissioner; provided that an uncertified person employed as an inspection mechanic may perform inspections during the first 30 days that he or she is employed by the inspection station.
(b) A person who applies for certification under this section shall complete an application form prescribed by the commissioner, shall be at least 18 years of age, and shall pass an examination based on the official inspection manual for each type of vehicle to be inspected.
(c) Applicants for certification under this section shall be examined on the inspection requirements for each type of vehicle to be inspected. Upon satisfactory completion of the examination, the commissioner shall issue a certification which shall remain in effect for a period of five years or until surrendered, suspended or revoked. Inspection mechanics certified by their employer as competent to perform inspections and who were continuously employed by one or more designated inspection stations for a period of at least one year at any time prior to July 1, 1998 shall not be required to take the examination. (Added 1997, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), § 66j, eff. Jan. 1, 1999; amended 2005, No. 188 (Adj. Sess.), § 5.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Vermont may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.