2012 Vermont Statutes
Title 23 Motor Vehicles
Chapter 13 OPERATION OF VEHICLES
§ 1128 Accidents-Duty to stop
§ 1128. Accidents-Duty to stop
(a) The operator of a motor vehicle who has caused or is involved in an accident resulting in injury to any person other than the operator, or in damage to any property other than the vehicle then under his or her control shall immediately stop and render any assistance reasonably necessary. The operator shall give his or her name, residence, license number, and the name of the owner of the motor vehicle to any person who is injured or whose property is damaged and to any enforcement officer. A person who violates this section shall be fined not more than $2,000.00 or imprisoned for not more than two years, or both.
(b) If serious bodily injury results from the accident, a person violating subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not more than $3,000.00 or imprisoned for not more than five years, or both.
(c) If death results from the accident, a person violating subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not more than $3,000.00, or imprisoned for not less than one year nor more than 15 years, or both.
(d) A person convicted of violating this section shall be assessed a surcharge of $50.00, which shall be added to any fine or surcharge imposed by the court. The court shall collect and transfer the surcharge assessed under this subsection to be credited to the DUI enforcement fund. The collection procedures described in 13 V.S.A. § 5240 shall be utilized in the collection of this surcharge. (Added 1971, No. 258 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. March 1, 1973; amended 1981, No. 205 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 1995, No. 151 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 1997, No. 117 (Adj. Sess.), § 25.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Vermont may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.