2021 Tennessee Code
Title 55 - Motor and Other Vehicles
Chapter 10 - Accidents, Crimes and Penalties
Part 8 - Tennessee Unattended Children in Motor Vehicle Safety Act
§ 55-10-803. Offense of Leaving Child Unattended in Motor Vehicle — Penalty
- It is an offense for a person responsible for a child younger than seven (7) years of age to knowingly leave that child in a motor vehicle located on public property or while on the premises of any shopping center, trailer park, or any apartment house complex, or any other premises that is generally frequented by the public at large without being supervised in the motor vehicle by a person who is at least thirteen (13) years of age, if:
- The conditions present a risk to the child's health or safety;
- The engine of the motor vehicle is running; or
- The keys to the motor vehicle are located anywhere inside the passenger compartment of the vehicle.
- A violation of this section is a Class B misdemeanor punishable only by a fine of two hundred dollars ($200) for the first offense.
- A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class B misdemeanor punishable only by a fine of five hundred dollars ($500).
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.