2018 Tennessee Code
Title 71 - Welfare
Chapter 6 - Programs and Services for Abused Persons
Part 1 - Adult Protection
§ 71-6-117. Offense of abuse or neglect of adult -- Placement on registry -- Fine. [Effective until January 1, 2019. See version effective on January 1, 2019.]

Universal Citation: TN Code § 71-6-117 (2018)
  • (a) It is an offense for any person to knowingly, other than by accidental means, abuse or neglect any adult within the meaning of this part.

  • (b) A violation of this section is a Class D felony.

  • (c)

    • (1) Following a conviction for a violation of this section or § 71-6-119, the clerk of the court shall notify the department of health of the conviction by sending a copy of the judgment in the manner set forth in § 68-11-1003 for inclusion pursuant to title 68, chapter 11, part 10.

    • (2) Upon receipt of a judgment of conviction for a violation of an offense set out in subdivision (c)(1), the department shall place the person or persons convicted on the registry of persons who have abused, neglected, or misappropriated the property of a vulnerable individual as provided in § 68-11-1003(c).

    • (3) Upon entry of the information in the registry, the department shall notify the person convicted, at the person's last known mailing address, of the person's inclusion on the registry. The person convicted shall not be entitled or given the opportunity to contest or dispute either the prior hearing conclusions or the content or terms of any criminal disposition, or attempt to refute the factual findings upon which the conclusions and determinations are based. The person convicted may challenge the accuracy of the report that the criminal disposition has occurred, such hearing conclusions were made or any factual issue related to the correct identity of the person. If the person convicted makes such a challenge within sixty (60) days of notification of inclusion on the registry, the commissioner, or the commissioner's designee, shall afford the person an opportunity for a hearing on the matter that complies with the requirements of due process and the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5.

  • (d) In addition to any other punishment that may be imposed for a violation of this section, if, as determined by the court, the victim was sixty (60) years of age or older, then the court shall impose a fine in an amount between fifty dollars ($50.00) and two hundred dollars ($200). The additional fine shall be paid to the clerk of the court imposing sentence, who shall transfer it to the state treasurer, who shall credit the fine to the general fund. All fines so credited to the general fund may be subject to appropriation by the general assembly for the purpose of funding services and programs for senior citizens.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.