2018 Tennessee Code
Title 55 - Motor and Other Vehicles
Chapter 8 - Operation of Vehicles -- Rules of the Road
Part 3 - Electric Bicycles
§ 55-8-307. Prohibited operation of class 3 electric bicycle by person under 14 years of age -- Helmet requirements.

Universal Citation: TN Code § 55-8-307 (2018)
  • (a) It is a delinquent act for a person under fourteen (14) years of age to operate a class 3 electric bicycle upon any street or highway; provided, that the person may ride as a passenger on a class 3 electric bicycle that is designed to accommodate passengers.

  • (b) The operator and all passengers of a class 3 electric bicycle, regardless of age, shall wear a properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet meeting federal standards established by the United States consumer product safety commission or the American Society for Testing and Materials. A label on the helmet shall be affixed signifying the helmet complies with this subsection (b).

  • (c)

    • (1) A violation of subsection (a) shall be punishable only by a fine not to exceed fifty dollars ($50.00).

    • (2) A person who violates subsection (b) commits a Class C misdemeanor.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.