2017 Tennessee Code
Title 40 - Criminal Procedure
Chapter 24 - Fines
§ 40-24-101. Payment of fines -- Manner.

Universal Citation: TN Code § 40-24-101 (2017)
  • (a) When any court of this state, including municipal courts for violation of municipal ordinances, imposes a fine upon an individual, the court may direct as follows:
    • (1) That the defendant pay the entire amount at the time sentence is pronounced;
    • (2) That the defendant pay the entire amount at some later date;
    • (3) That the defendant pay the fine in specified portions or installments at designated periodic intervals and that the portions be remitted to a designated official, who shall report to the court in the event of any failure to comply with the order; or
    • (4) Where the defendant is sentenced to a period of probation as well as a fine, that payment of the fine be a condition of the sentence.
  • (b) For the clerk's services in administering any court-approved plan authorizing payment of a fine by installments, the clerk of court shall be entitled to a fee of five percent (5%) of the total amount to be collected, not to exceed fifteen dollars ($15.00); provided, that in counties having a population of more than seven hundred thousand (700,000), according to the 1990 federal census or any subsequent federal census, the fee shall not exceed ten percent (10%) of the total amount to be collected, not to exceed fifteen dollars ($15.00). The clerk's fees shall be added to the defendant's bill of costs.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.