2017 Tennessee Code
Title 39 - Criminal Offenses
Chapter 14 - Offenses Against Property
Part 1 - Theft
§ 39-14-105. Grading of theft.

Universal Citation: TN Code § 39-14-105 (2017)
  • (a) Theft of property or services is:
    • (1) A Class A misdemeanor if the value of the property or services obtained is one thousand ($1,000) or less;
    • (2) A Class E felony if the value of the property or services obtained is more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) but less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500);
    • (3) A Class D felony if the value of the property or services obtained is two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or more but less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000);
    • (4) A Class C felony if the value of the property or services obtained is ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or more but less than sixty thousand dollars ($60,000);
    • (5) A Class B felony if the value of the property or services obtained is sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) or more but less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000); and
    • (6) A Class A felony if the value of the property or services obtained is two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) or more.
  • (b)
    • (1) In a prosecution for theft of property, theft of services, and any offense for which the punishment is determined pursuant to this section, the state may charge multiple criminal acts committed against one (1) or more victims as a single count if the criminal acts arise from a common scheme, purpose, intent or enterprise.
    • (2) The monetary value of property from multiple criminal acts which are charged in a single count of theft of property shall be aggregated to establish value under this section.
  • (c) Venue in a prosecution for any offense punishable pursuant to this section shall be in the county where one (1) or more elements of the offense occurred, or in the county where an act of solicitation, inducement, offer, acceptance, delivery, storage, or financial transaction occurred involving the property, service or article of the victim.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.