2016 Tennessee Code
Title 62 - Professions, Businesses and Trades
Chapter 38 - Tattoos and Body Piercing
Part 2 - General Provisions
§ 62-38-211. Tattoos for persons under 18 years of age -- Reporting tattooing of minors -- Tattoos to cover up existing tattoos for minors 16 years of age or older -- False statements of age or exhibiting false identification by minors for purpose of obtaining tattoos.
(a) Except as provided in subsection (c), it is a Class A misdemeanor to tattoo a person under eighteen (18) years of age.
(b) (1) Any parent, legal guardian, teacher or medical provider or school resource officer for a minor under eighteen (18) years of age, who discovers that a minor has been tattooed is encouraged to report such discovery to the department within three (3) weekdays of making such discovery. Any report made pursuant to this subdivision (b)(1) shall be accompanied by the following information, to the extent that such information is known to the person making the report:
(A) The name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address of the minor's parent or legal guardian; and
(B) The name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address of the person who tattooed the minor.
(2) Within fourteen (14) days of receiving a report that is made pursuant to subdivision (b)(1), which report includes the name and mailing address of the parent or legal guardian of the minor who is the subject of the report, the department shall provide to the minor's parent or legal guardian, by first class United States mail, a written acknowledgement of receipt of the report.
(3) The department shall establish by rule a process whereby the reports that are required by this subsection (b) may be made by telephone. The department is authorized to establish by rule processes whereby the reports that are required by this subsection (b) may be made in person or by mail, email or other means of communication.
(c) (1) With the written consent of the parent or legal guardian, a minor sixteen (16) years of age or older may be tattooed to cover up an existing tattoo. A parent or legal guardian must present proof of guardianship or custody of the minor, an acknowledgement of receipt of a report provided pursuant to subdivision (b)(2), and must be present during the procedure.
(2) For purposes of subdivision (c)(1), "proof of guardianship or custody" includes a copy of an order of guardianship, a decree for custody, a birth certificate or any other form of proof of guardianship or custody that is permitted by rule of the department of health.
(d) Any person under eighteen (18) years of age who knowingly makes a false statement or exhibits false identification to the effect that the person is eighteen (18) years of age or older to any person providing tattoo services licensed or permitted under this part for the purpose of purchasing or obtaining the same commits delinquent acts taken through juvenile courts and the person shall be punished by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and not less than twenty (20) hours of community service work, which fine or penalty shall not be suspended or waived.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.