2015 Tennessee Code
Title 62 - Professions, Businesses and Trades
Chapter 6 - Contractors and Contracting
Part 1 - General Provisions
§ 62-6-116 - Expiration of license -- Renewal.
(a) A certificate of license expires on the last day of the twenty-fourth month following its issuance or renewal and becomes invalid on that date unless renewed.
(b) Renewal notices shall be mailed ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date of the license. The renewal must be received in the office of the board thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of the license.
(c) Renewal may be effected at any time during the thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of the license by filing with the board a financial statement, a report of any personal or corporate bankruptcies and other information that the board may require, by the payment of a fee as set by the board and by submitting evidence of the applicant's current workers' compensation insurance coverage. Failure to provide evidence of workers' compensation insurance coverage shall make the applicant ineligible for renewal until evidence of insurance coverage is provided.
(d) A renewal application for a monetary limitation greater than one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) shall be accompanied by a reviewed or audited financial statement prepared by a licensed public accountant or a certified public accountant. If a renewal applicant requests a monetary limitation of one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) or less, the applicant shall submit a notarized statement that the information contained in the financial statement is true and correct.
(e) It is the duty of the executive director to notify by mail every person licensed under this part of the date of expiration of this certificate of license and the amount of fee required for its renewal for two (2) years. Notice shall be mailed in accordance with this section.
(f) The fee to be paid for the renewal of a certificate of license after the expiration date shall be increased ten percent (10%) for each month or fraction of a month that payment for renewal is delayed. The maximum fee for a delayed renewal shall not exceed twice the normal fee.
(g) No contractor shall be qualified to receive a renewal license when the contractor has been in default in complying with this part for a period of one (1) year and in such event the contractor, in order to qualify under the law, shall make a new application as in the case of the issuance of the original license.
(h) The board shall promulgate rules and regulations that establish uniform criteria to govern the review and adjustment of the general construction classifications, specialty classifications and monetary limitations of certificates of license that are subject to renewal by the board. The criteria shall also establish a method for identifying those licensees applying for renewal who may require a greater degree of scrutiny by the board than usual.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.