2014 Tennessee Code
Title 47 - Commercial Instruments And Transactions
Chapter 26 - Weights and Measures
Part 8 - Certified Public Weighers of Natural Resources Products
§ 47-26-813 - Violations -- Penalties.
(a) It is a violation for a certified weigher to measure trucks in excess of weights as prescribed in § 47-26-812.
(b) It is a violation for a certified weigher to make flagrant or fraudulent recordings of measurements of weight or capacity.
(c) A violation of this part shall be reported to the commissioner of safety.
(d) A penalty of fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be assessed against the certified public weigher for each infraction deemed to be a violation of this part by the commissioner of safety. A certified public weigher's license may be revoked upon a finding of any such violation.
(e) Producers and suppliers of natural resources products which do not weigh or measure such products in accordance with § 47-26-803(b) shall pay a penalty of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each such violation.
(f) The commissioner of safety is responsible for the enforcement of this part, and it is the commissioner's duty to prosecute violations of this part.
(g) If any penalties imposed by this part and assessed by the department of safety, pursuant to any statute or executive order, are not paid within ninety (90) days from the date of assessment notice, such penalties shall be subject to collection by the commissioner of revenue under title 67, chapter 1, part 14. If it becomes necessary for the commissioner of revenue to collect such penalties on behalf of the department of safety, the department of revenue shall retain an administrative fee of two percent (2%) of the gross penalties collected.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.