2010 Tennessee Code
Title 62 - Professions, Businesses and Trades
Chapter 6 - Contractors and Contracting
Part 1 - General Provisions
62-6-138 - Prelicensing general contractor education courses or workshops.
62-6-138. Prelicensing general contractor education courses or workshops.
(a) All prelicensing courses designed to assist an applicant in taking an examination as required by the board must be approved by the board before accepting applicants.
(b) A prelicensing general contractor education course or workshop shall be qualified for approval, if the board determines that it:
(1) Constitutes an organized program of learning, including a symposium, that contributes directly to the professional competency of the licensee;
(2) Is related to the practice of general contracting;
(3) Is conducted by individuals considered experts in the subject matter of the program by reason of education, training or experience; and
(4) Is accompanied by a paper, manual or written outline that substantially describes the subject matter of the program.
(c) The board or its representative shall be admitted to prelicensing general contractor education courses at no charge, in order to monitor the persons present, the content of the course and supporting paperwork.
(d) The person or firm conducting prelicensing general contractor education courses shall apply to the board for renewal of approval of the courses every three (3) years.
(e) The board may charge a fee for reviewing and approving prelicensing general contractor education courses; provided, that the fee shall not be greater than that necessary to carry out this section.
(f) The director of the board, acting on behalf of the board, is authorized to issue citations against persons acting in the capacity of or engaging in the business of conducting prelicensing general contractor education courses without approval of the board as required by this section. Each citation shall be in writing and shall describe with particularity the basis of the citation. Each citation shall contain an order to cease all violations of this part and an assessment of a civil penalty in an amount no less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The commission shall promulgate rules and regulations to specify those conditions necessary to the issuance of a citation and the range of penalties for violations of this part.
(g) The board is authorized to promulgate rules and regulations pursuant to the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5, to effectuate this section.
[Acts 2006, ch. 657, §§ 1, 2.]
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.