2010 Tennessee Code
Title 55 - Motor and Other Vehicles
Chapter 4 - Registration and Licensing of Motor Vehicles
Part 1 - General Provisions
55-4-110 - Display of registration plates Manner Penalty for violation.
55-4-110. Display of registration plates Manner Penalty for violation.
(a) The registration plate issued for passenger motor vehicles shall be attached on the rear of the vehicle. The registration plate issued for those trucks with a manufacturer's ton rating not exceeding three-quarter (¾) ton and having a panel or pickup body style, and also those issued for all motor homes, regardless of ton rating or body style thereof, shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle. The registration plate issued for all other trucks and truck tractors shall be attached to the front of the vehicle. All dealers' plates, as provided in § 55-4-221, and those registration plates issued for motorcycles, trailers or semitrailers shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle.
(b) Every registration plate shall at all times be securely fastened in a horizontal position to the vehicle for which it is issued so to prevent the plate from swinging and at a height of not less than twelve inches (12²) from the ground, measuring from the bottom of the plate, in a place and position to be clearly visible and shall be maintained free from foreign materials and in a condition to be clearly legible. No tinted materials may be placed over a license plate even if the information upon the license plate is not concealed.
(c) (1) A violation of this section is a Class C misdemeanor. All proceeds from the fines imposed by this subsection (c) shall be deposited in the state general fund.
(2) A person charged with a violation of this section may, in lieu of appearance in court, submit a fine of ten dollars ($10.00) for a first violation, and twenty dollars ($20.00) on second and subsequent violations to the clerk of the court that has jurisdiction of the offense within the county in which the offense charged is alleged to have been committed.
[Acts 1951, ch. 70, § 46 (Williams, § 5538.146); Acts 1953, ch. 167, § 7; 1955, ch. 52, § 5; 1957, ch. 108, § 1; 1959, ch. 26, § 2; 1973, ch. 234, § 3; 1974, ch. 525, § 2; 1975, ch. 128, § 2; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), § 59-410; Acts 2004, ch. 698, §§ 1, 2.]
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.