2012 South Carolina Code of Laws
Title 56 - Motor Vehicles
Chapter 3 - MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION AND LICENSING
Section 56-3-670 - Fees for farm truck licenses; violations; penalties.
(A) For the purpose of this section, "farm truck" is defined as a truck used exclusively by the owner for agricultural, horticultural, dairying, livestock, and poultry operations and includes transporting farm processed horticultural products, including soil amendments and mulches owned by the truck's owner or another person, including first market. However, farm trucks with an empty weight of less than seven thousand five hundred pounds may be used for ordinary domestic purposes and general transportation but must not be used to transport persons or property for hire. No part of this definition may be interpreted to exempt any commercial motor vehicle less than 26,001 pounds GVW/GVWR/GCW/GCWR from all or part of state laws or regulations applicable to intrastate commerce if the vehicle:
(1) transports hazardous materials requiring a placard; or
(2) is designed or used to transport sixteen or more people, including the driver.
(B) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall issue to bona fide farmers special farm vehicle licenses on an annual basis for farm trucks for a fee as follows according to the gross vehicle weight of the truck:
Gross Vehicle Weight Fee
(1) Up to 26,499 pounds $ 12.00
(2) 26,500 to 32,499 pounds $ 15.00
(3) 32,500 to 42,500 pounds $ 30.00
(4) 42,501 to 52,500 pounds $ 60.00
(5) 52,501 to 62,500 pounds $ 80.00
(6) 62,501 to 72,500 pounds $ 100.00
(7) 72,501 to 80,000 pounds $ 120.00 .
Nothing in this section exempts farm vehicles from gross weight-axle requirements contained in Section 56-5-4140.
(C) A person who is issued a farm license plate for the purpose defined in this section and uses the license plate for purposes other than those defined is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than two hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both.
HISTORY: 1962 Code Section 46-35.1; 1952 Code Section 46-35; 1949 (46) 342; 1959 (51) 391; 1960 (51) 1728; 1979 Act No. 83 Section 1; 1993 Act No. 164, Part II,Section 39A; 1993 Act No. 164, Part II, Section 22K; 1994 Act No. 417, Section 5; 1996 Act No. 392, Section 1; 1996 Act No. 459, Section 137; 2002 Act No. 340, Section 7; 2005 Act No. 62, Section 1, eff May 16, 2005; 2006 Act No. 398, Section 17, eff September 7, 2006; 2012 Act No. 180, Section 3, eff May 25, 2012.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. South Carolina may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.