2012 South Carolina Code of Laws
Title 56 - Motor Vehicles
Chapter 3 - MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION AND LICENSING
Section 56-3-640 - Fees for common carrier passenger vehicles; vehicles so classified; determining vehicle weight.
(A) For every common carrier passenger vehicle the biennial registration and license fee is according to weight:
(1) not over 2000 pounds: $18.00;
(2) 2001 to 2500 pounds: $24.00;
(3) 2501 to 3000 pounds: $30.00;
(4) 3001 to 3500 pounds: $36.00;
(5) 3501 to 4000 pounds: $42.00;
(6) 4001 to 4500 pounds: $48.00;
(7) 4501 to 5000 pounds: $54.00;
(8) over 5000 pounds: $54.00 plus $6.00 for each 500 pounds' weight or fraction over 5000 pounds.
(B) The Department of Motor Vehicles must include in this classification every motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons for compensation as a regular business. This classification does not include a trackless trolley bus.
(C) The manufacturer's rating on the weight of a vehicle must be accepted as the weight of the vehicle for the purpose of fixing the license fee under this section.
HISTORY: 1962 Code Section 46-34; 1952 Code Section 46-34; 1949 (46) 342; 1993 Act No. 164, Part II, Section 22I.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. South Carolina may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.