2022 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 19 - Financial Institutions
Chapter 19-26 - Pawnbrokers
Section 19-26-2. - City or town license — Fee — Revocation.

Universal Citation: RI Gen L § 19-26-2. (2022)

§ 19-26-2. City or town license — Fee — Revocation.

The city or town council of any city or town may grant licenses to suitable persons, residents of the state, under any conditions and regulations that it may think proper, to carry on the business of pawnbrokers within their respective cities or towns for the term of one year at the place designated in the license, and every license granted shall designate the place where the business shall be carried on, and the carrying on of the business in any other place than that designated in the license, whether by the person named or by any other person, shall be deemed to be without license, and shall be punished accordingly; and every person taking the license shall pay to the city or town treasurer a sum not less than fifty dollars ($50.00), nor more than two hundred dollars ($200), to be fixed by the city or town council, and notwithstanding anything contained in this chapter, any license granted may be revoked and annulled by the city or town council at any time without affecting any liability under the bonds to be given, and without any claim for the money, or any part of the money, paid for the license.

History of Section.
G.L. 1896, ch. 105, § 1; G.L. 1909, ch. 126, § 1; G.L. 1923, ch. 131, § 1; G.L. 1938, ch. 364, § 1; G.L. 1956, § 19-26-2; P.L. 2004, ch. 169, § 1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Rhode Island may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.